# 41ST SMA COUNCIL – 2000/2001

## Standing Committees, Organisations Under SMA's Governance & Representatives of SMA

(The President and Honorary Secretary are ex-officios of every committee)

### I. ADMINISTRATION

Chairman: Dr Lee Pheng Soon (2nd VP) Vice Chairman: Dr Chong Yeh Woei (Treasurer)

### **II. PUBLICATION**

- 1. <u>Editorial Board SMJ</u> Editor: Dr C Rajasoorya Deputy Editor: Dr Sonny YT Wang
- 2. <u>Editorial Board SMA NEWS</u> *Editor:* A/Prof Cheong Pak Yean

#### III. PRACTICE & MEMBERSHIP SERVICES GROUP

- 1. <u>Dinner & Convention Organising</u> <u>Committee</u> *Convention Chairman:* Dr Tham Tat Yean *Dinner Chairman:* Dr Teoh Tiong Ann
- 2. <u>Medical Informatics Committee</u> *Chairmen:* A/P Goh Lee Gan / Dr Chia Shi-Lu
- 3. <u>Medical Officers Committee</u> *Chairman:* Dr Ng Yih Yng *Advisers:* Dr Yue WM /Dr Foo CK
- 4. <u>Membership Committee</u> *Chairman:* Dr Foo Chuan Kit
- 5. <u>Private Practice Committee</u> *Chairman:* Dr Chong Yeh Woei
- 6. <u>Casemix & Guideline on Fees</u> <u>Committee</u> *Chairman:* Dr Lim Teck Beng
- 7. <u>Sports & Games Committee</u> *Chairman:* Dr Tan Yew Ghee

### IV. COMMUNITY SERVICES & EDUCATION GROUP

- 1. <u>SMA-SNA CPR Training Programme</u> <u>Committee</u> *Chairman:* Dr Low Lip Ping
- Medik Awas Committee Chairman: A/Prof Ti Teow Yee
- 3. <u>Community Health Education</u> *Chairman:* Dr Tan Chue Tin

### **V. ETHICS & INDEMNITY GROUP**

- 1. <u>Ethics Committee</u> *Chairman:* A/Prof Goh Lee Gan
- 2. <u>Professional Indemnity (MPS)</u> *Chairman:* Dr Tan Chue Tin

### VI. CONSTITUTION REVIEW COMMITTEE

Chairman: A/Prof Goh Lee Gan

### VII. SINGAPORE MEDICAL ASSOCIATION PTE LTD

Executive Directors: (2000-2003) Dr Lim Teck Beng Dr Tan Sze Wee Dr Ivor Thevathasan Dr Wong Chiang Yin Non-Executive Directors: A/Prof Goh Lee Gan (ex-officio) Dr Yue Wai Mun (ex-officio) Dr Chong Yeh Woei SMA Trustees (2000-2005): Dr Kwa Soon Bee Dr Robert Loh Choo Kiat Dr Tan Cheng Bock @ Adrian Tan

### VIII. CENTRE FOR MEDICAL ETHICS & PROFESSIONALISM

Director: Dr T Thirumoorthy Deputy Director: A/Prof Cheong Pak Yean

### IX. SMA TRUST FUND (2000-2003)

Chairman: Dr Khoo Chong Yew Secretary: Dr Tan Yew Ghee Treasurer: Dr Low Lip Ping Members: Dr Koh Eng Kheng Prof Arthur S M Lim

### REPRESENTATIVES FROM SMA FOR 2000/2001 (AS OF JULY 2000)

- <u>MOH Coordinating Committee on</u> <u>Healthy Lifestyle</u> Dr Goh Jin Hian
- <u>MOH Central Immunisation Registry</u> <u>System Workgroup</u> Dr Lim Kim Leong
- <u>MOH Focus Group 2 : IT in the</u> <u>Provision of Patient Care</u> A/Prof Cheong Pak Yean
- MOH Medicine Advisory
   <u>Committee</u>
   Dr.Lee Dhang Seen

Dr Lee Pheng Soon A/Prof Cheong Pak Yean (Alternate)

- MOH Medico-Legal Taskgroup Dr Tan Sze Wee
- MOH Mental Health Education
   Programme
   Dr Tan Chue Tin
- <u>MOH Private Hospital Casemix</u> <u>Working Group</u> Dr Lim Teck Beng
- SMC CME Coordinating
   <u>Committee</u>
- A/Prof Goh Lee Gan
   <u>National Technical Services</u> <u>Committee</u>
- A/Prof Vivian Balakrishnan
  Insurance Ombudsman Bureau
- Dr Tan Kok Soo • <u>Advertising Standards Authority of</u> <u>Singapore (ASAS)</u> Dr Tan Sze Wee
- Singapore Anti-Narcotics
   Association
   Association
- Dr Tan Chue Tin Commonwealth Medical Association A/Prof Low Cheng Hock
- MASEAN Council Secretary General: (1999-2003) A/Prof Cheong Pak Yean MASEAN Councillors: Dr Tan Sze Wee Dr Wong Chiang Yin A/Prof Goh Lee Gan Dr Yue Wai Mun
- <u>CMAAO</u> Dr Tan Kok Soo / Dr Wong Chiang Yin

#### SMA HONORARY LEGAL ADVISORS

Mr Kumar Lal Mr Lek Siang Pheng Mr Leo Fernando Dr Myint Soe Mr K Shanmugam

### **PROFESSIONAL AUDITORS**

Richard Chan & Company