3

News from SMA Council

By Dr Yue Wai Mun, Honorary Secretary

1. 45th SMA COUNCIL (2004 – 2005)

We are pleased to announce that the following Council Members have been elected to the 45th SMA Council, at the 44th SMA Annual General Meeting on Sunday, 18 April 2004. The Installation Ceremony was held after the Elections, on the same day, at the SMA Conference Room.

President	: Dr Lee Pheng Soon
1st Vice President	: Dr Wong Chiang Yin
2nd Vice President	: Dr Toh Choon Lai
Honorary Secretary	: Dr Yue Wai Mun
Honorary Asst Secretary	: Dr Foo Chuan Kit
Honorary Treasurer	: Dr Chong Yeh Woei
Honorary Asst Treasurer	: Dr Soh Wah Ngee
Council Members	: Dr John Chiam Yih Hsing
	: Dr Chin Jing Jih
	: Prof Low Cheng Hock
	: Dr Tan Kok Leong
	: Dr Tan Sze Wee
	: Dr Tham Tat Yean
	Dr lyor Thoyathacan

- : Dr Ivor Thevathasan
- : Dr Toh Han Chong
- : Dr Wong Tien Hua

We wish to welcome two new Council Members:



DR TOH HAN CHONG MBBChir(Camb), MRCP(UK) FRCP(UK), is a Consultant at the Department of Oncology, National Cancer Centre.



DR WONG TIEN HUA MBBS(S), Dip(Occ Med)(UK); MRCGP(UK), Grad Dip(Fam Med)(Monash) is Director of Mutual Healthcare Pte Ltd.

We also wish to express our deepest appreciation to **Dr Tan Chue Tin** and **Dr Wong Tien Yin**, who have retired from the SMA Council, for their invaluable contributions to SMA.

2. SMA HONORARY MEMBERSHIP

We are pleased to announce that **Dr Chee Phui Hung** and **Prof Lee Yong Kiat** were elected to the SMA Honorary Membership at the 44th SMA Annual General Meeting, in accordance with Article IV Section (iv) of the SMA Constitution.

3. SMA CONSTITUTION AMENDMENTS

In view of the lack of quorum at the postponed AGM, the proposed amendments to the SMA Constitution were not discussed.

4. APPOINTMENT OF SMA TRUSTEE TO SMA PTE LTD In accordance with Article XIII Section 2 of the SMA

Constitution, the members present at the 44th SMA Annual General Meeting unanimously ratified the decision of the 44th SMA Council for the appointment of **Dr Yong Nen Khiong** as SMA Trustee. Dr Yong was appointed in place of Dr Kwa Soon Bee who resigned on 7 July 2003. With the appointment, the 66,667 shares at S\$1.00 each, previously held by Dr Kwa, had accordingly been transferred to be held in trust by Dr Yong.

5. UNITED MEDICAL PROTECTION (UMP)

UMP has written on 26 March 2004 to SMA about the status of doctors who were formerly paid-up members of UMP at the time. This reply has been circulated to members of UMP on 8 April 2004. (See page 4) SMA understands that UMP will be writing to members individually to offer a pro-rated refund of their subscriptions paid for the period 3 May 2002 to the end of their financial membership, in return for a signed release of UMP from any role in any claims that might arise in the future during this period.

A meeting on Wednesday, 21 April 2004, held between Dr K K Chow and A/Prof Goh Lee Gan of the SMA UMP workgroup, SMA's legal advisor Mr Lek Siang Pheng, and the SMA President Dr Lee Pheng Soon and Honorary Secretary Dr Yue Wai Mun, concluded that in some isolated situations, it might be advantageous if the member does not surrender his UMP membership for this refund. We have therefore written to UMP for further clarifications. Until these replies return, we strongly advise UMP members to think very carefully before accepting such a refund. This is because the potential cover (even if discretionary, and only partial) might still be very substantial compared to the refunded subscription.

We are also seeking clarification if Singapore members are eligible to claim under the Australian government's IBNR fund; and if eligible, the amount that will be deducted to reflect that Singapore members are not required to make the levy payment applicable for Australian doctors.

We will keep members informed when we hear from UMP again.

45™ SMA COUNCIL Dr Lee Pheng Soon President Dr Wong Chiang Yin 1st Vice President Dr Toh Choon Lai 2rd Vice President Dr Yue Wai Mun Honorary Secretary Dr Chong Yeh Woei Honorary Treasurer Dr Foo Chuan Kit Honorary Assistant Secretary Dr Soh Wah Ngee Honorary Assistant Treasurer

Members

Dr John Chiam Yih Hsing Dr Chin Jing Jih Prof Low Cheng Hock Dr Tan Kok Leong Dr Tan Sze Wee Dr Tham Tat Yean Dr Ivor Thevathasan

Dr Toh Han Chong Dr Wong Tien Hua

Page 12 ►

6. CME REQUIREMEMTS

The SMA Council would like to remind Members that the qualifying period for fulfilling CME requirements for renewal of Practising Certificates for 2005 will end on **31 December 2004**, i.e. there are approximately eight months left to fulfill CME requirements. We understand from the Singapore Medical Council that failure to meet the CME requirements will mean that the doctor's Practising Certificate in 2005 will not be renewed until the shortfall of CME points / core points has been made up.

7. MEDI-BANK FOR SMA MEMBERS

SMA has signed a three-year MOU of collaboration with Vital Base Co Pte Ltd, the sister company of Indexed Medical Specialties Ltd of Hong Kong, the developers of the first SE Asia local drug database in PDA format. Under the collaboration with Vital Base, all SMA Members will receive a **FREE hard copy of Medi-Bank** as one of the membership benefits. Medi-Bank, the medical reference publication, was launched on Saturday, 3 April 2004. It will provide drug prescription information, advice from some local medical specialists, and information on medical and laboratory equipment and supplies. **The first edition is expected to be released in Singapore in July this year.**