3	Thoughts from the New Editor
.	Seeking Clarification from UNITED
7	Clustering: Boon, Bane or Bust?
8	EMRX and Beyond
14	Volunteering for MSF
17	SARS Epilogue

VOLUME 36 NO.5 MAY 2004 MITA (P) 342/03/2004





EDITORIAL BOARD

Dr Toh Han Chong Deputy Editor Dr Daniel Fung Members

Editor

SMA Annual Dinner



(L-R standing) Prof Lee Yong Kiat, Dr Lee Pheng Soon, Dr Chee Phui Hung, and Dr Lee Suan Yew. (L-R seated) Mrs Khaw BW, Mrs Lee PS, Mr Khaw Boon Wan, Mrs Chee PH, and Mrs Lee YK.



 Our doctors-MPs sharing a light moment. (L-R) Dr Warren Lee, Dr Ong Seh Hong and Dr Tan Cheng Bock.

Other awards presented included the SMJ Best Research Paper Awards, SMA Merit Awards, and SMA Long Service Awards.

SMJ BEST RESEARCH PAPER AWARD

The Singapore Medical Journal (SMJ) receives local submissions, as well as research papers from around the region such as India, Hong Kong, Malaysia. In line with the SMJ's aim to promote local and regional researchers, the SMJ Best Research Paper Award was launched to give due recognition for good research papers published in the SMJ.



Ex-Officio Dr Lee Pheng Soon Dr Yue Wai Mun Executive Secretary Ms Chua Gek Eng Editorial Manager Ms Krysania Tan

The views and opinions expressed in all the articles are those of the authors. These are not the views of the Editorial Board nor the SMA Council unless specifically stated so in writing. The contents of the Newsletter are not to be printed in whole or in part without prior written approval of the Editor.

Published by the Singapore Medical Association, Level 2, Alumni Medical Centre, 2 College Road, Singapore 169850. Tel: 6223-1264 Fax: 6224-7827 Email: news@sma.org.sg URL: http://www.sma.org.sg

his year's SMA Annual Dinner was held on 8 May 2004 (Saturday) at the Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel. The Association was honoured to have Mr Khaw Boon Wan, Acting Minister for Health and Senior Minister of State for Finance, as Guest-of-Honour.

 (L-R standing) Dr Lim Teck Beng, Ms Kuah Boon Theng, Mr Teo Weng Kie, and Dr T Thirumoorthy. (L-R seated) Mrs Lim TB, Mrs S Yeoh,

Dr Steven Yeoh, Dr Alvin Koo, Mrs A Koo, and Mrs Thirumoorthy.

During the Dinner, the SMA Honorary Membership was also conferred on Dr Chee Phui Hung and Prof Lee Yong Kiat. The citations, which were delivered by Prof John Wong and Prof Fock Kwong Ming respectively, will be published in the SMA News June issue.



 (L-R standing) Prof Raj Mohan Nambiar, A/Prof Philip Choo, A/Prof Chan Yew Weng, and Dr Chew Chin Hin. (L-R seated) Dr Chen Ai Ju, Mrs R Nambiar, and Mrs P Choo.



 (L-R standing) Dr Robert C W Hawkins, Mr Tamil Chelvan (National Sales Manager, Pfizer), and Dr Teo Wee Siong. (L-R seated) Dr Yang Kuang Ying, Mr Tan Kin Lian (CEO, NTUC Income), Mrs Tan KL, and Mrs Teo WS.



 Dr Au Kah Kay playing Albeniz's Navarra for the evening's special musical interlude.



 Dr Wilson Goh performing two Tchaikovsky pieces on his 1873 Emile Cherpitel violin, accompanied by Dr Chang Tou Liang on the piano.

◄ Page 1 – SMA Annual Dinner

The distinguished panel of judges were Dr Chen Ai Ju, Prof Feng Pao Hsii and Prof Raj Mohan Nambiar.

The winners of the SMJ Best Research Paper Awards 2003 were:

First Prize – S\$5,000 cash award, sponsored by Pfizer Pte Ltd.

Dr Teo Wee Siong, Dr Ruth Kam Ming Li, and Dr Hsu Li Fern, for their paper: "Treatment of heart failure – role of biventricular pacing for heart failure not responding well to drug therapy."

Second Prize – S\$3,000 cash award, sponsored by SMA. **Dr Robert Charles William Hawkins**, for his paper: "Comparison of four point-of-care HbA1c analytical systems against central laboratory analysis."

Third Prize – S\$2,000 cash award, sponsored by SMA.

Dr Yang Kuang Ying, Dr Wang Ming Chun, Dr Yeo Seng Jin, and Dr Lo Ngai Nung, for their paper: "Minimally invasive unicondylar versus total condylar knee arthroplasty – early results of a matched pair comparison."

All winners also received a commemorative trophy and certificate.

The SMA and SMJ would like to take this opportunity to thank Pfizer Pte Ltd for their generous sponsorship of the S\$5,000 cash award for the first prize.

SMA MERIT AWARDS 2004

The SMA Merit Awards, which were launched during last year's Annual Dinner on 16 November 2003, are presented annually, in recognition of the recipients' significant contributions to the Association or medical profession, social service to the community, or in recognition of commendable personal achievements.

The recipients of this year's SMA Merit Awards are

Ms Kuah Boon Theng – In recognition of significant services to the SMA as a Honorary Legal Advisor since 2001, advising the SMA Council on a wide range of contractual and legal matters, especially during the UMP Provisional Liquidation and SARS outbreak. Ms Kuah has spoken on several occasions at the SMA CMEP talks on medical ethics and health law.

Dr Lim Teck Beng – In recognition of significant contributions to the SMA. Dr Lim held various offices on the SMA Council (Vice-President and Honorary Treasurer), and led / participated



The 45th SMA Council (L-R) Dr Foo Chuan Kit, Dr Chong Yeh Woei, Dr Tan Sze Wee, Dr Chin Jing Jih, Dr Ivor Thevathasan, Dr Yue Wai Mun, Dr Lee Pheng Soon, Dr Wong Chiang Yin, Dr Soh Wah Ngee, Dr Tan Kok Leong, Dr Toh Han Chong, Dr Wong Tien Hua, Dr Tham Tat Yean, and Dr John Chiam. (Not in photo: Prof Low Cheng Hock and Dr Toh Choon Lai.)





 (L-R standing) Datuk Dr N Arumugam (President, Malaysian Medical Association), A/Prof Cheong Pak Yean, Prof Low Cheng Hock, Dr Wee Keng Poh, Dr Wong Sze Tai, Prof John Wong. (L-R seated) Mrs Wong ST, Mrs Wee KP, and Mrs J Wong. (L-R standing) Dr Lawrence Ng, Mr Lek Siang Pheng, Mr Edwin Tong, and Dr Myint Soe. (L-R seated) Dr Tan Kok Soo, Ms Mak Wei Munn, Mrs Myint Soe, and Mr Leo Fernando.



• Dr Tan Lai Yong receiving his Merit Award from the SMA President.

Page 4 – SMA Annual Dinner

in several Committees (Administration, Casemix and Guideline on Fees, Complaints, Ethics, Membership, Private Practice and Professional Indemnity). Dr Lim was also the Executive Director of SMA Pte Ltd for three years.

Dr Tan Lai Yong – In recognition of contributions to the community in Yunnan, China. As the Medical Director of Asia Project Grace, Dr Tan trains village doctors and other health workers. He has made Singapore and the medical profession proud with his active promotion of the Singapore spirit overseas.

Dr T Thirumoorthy – In recognition of significant contributions to the SMA Council and SMA Committees (e.g. Ethics, Private Practice) for a period spanning more than 10 years. Dr Thiru was instrumental in the setting up of the SMA Centre for Medical Ethics and Professionalism (CMEP), of which he was Executive Director for three years.

SMA LONG SERVICE AWARDS

Dr Alvin Koo – In appreciation of valuable contributions and services to the SMA for the past 10 years. Dr Koo served on the SMA Sports and Games Committee.

Ms Ng Ah Chee – In appreciation of valuable contributions and services to the SMA for the past 10 years. Ms Ng served on the SMA-SNA CPR Training Programme Committee.

Dr Steven Yeoh – In appreciation of valuable contributions and services to the SMA for the past 10 years. Dr Yeoh served on the SMA Sports and Games Committee.

Ms Chua Gek Eng – In appreciation of valuable contributions and services to the SMA for the past 15 years. Ms Chua is the Executive Secretary of the SMA. ■

5