| 03 | Council News |
|----|---|
| 04 | Survival and Sacrifice |
| 06 | Reflections from the Outgoing President |
| 80 | The Zen of Housemanship |
| 10 | The Healing Power of Words |
| 15 | Hobbit Counts the Cost of No Means Test |
| 18 | Professor Woo Keng Thye |
| 21 | News in Brief |

VOLUME 38 NO.4 APRIL 2006 MICA (P) 180/02/2006



New Leadership for SMA

Reported by Krysania Tan and Adeline Chua

47th SMA COUNCIL, 2006-2007

President 1st Vice President 2nd Vice President Honorary Secretary Honorary Treasurer Honorary Assistant Secretary Honorary Assistant Treasurer

Council Members

Dr Wong Chiang Yin Dr Chong Yeh Woei Dr Toh Choon Lai Dr Raymond Chua Swee Boon Dr Yue Wai Mun Dr Wong Tien Hua Dr Lee Yik Voon

Dr John Chiam Yih Hsing Dr Chin Jing Jih Dr Lee Pheng Soon Dr Oh Jen Jen Dr Soh Wah Ngee Dr Tan See Leng Dr Tan Sze Wee Dr Toh Han Chong Dr Yeo Sow Nam

fter three years at the helm of the Singapore Medical Association (SMA), Dr Lee Pheng Soon stepped down as President of the 46th SMA Council at the Annual General Meeting (AGM) on 9 April 2006 in the Alumni Auditorium. Dr Lee has been serving on the Council since 1992 and continues his term in the incoming 47th Council.

Taking over the leadership of SMA is Dr Wong Chiang Yin, who was 1st Vice President from 2003 to 2005. First elected to the SMA Council in 1995, Dr Wong received a 10-year Long Service Award at last year's SMA Annual Dinner for his service to the Council and various SMA committees. Dr Wong is also Secretary General of the Medical Association of



EDITORIAL BOARD

Editor Dr Toh Han Chong **Deputy Editor** Dr Daniel Fung Members Prof Chee Yam Chena Dr John Chiam Dr Lee Chung Horn Dr Jeremv Lim Dr Terence Lim Dr Oh Jen Jen Dr Tan Poh Kiang Dr Tan Wu Meng **Ex-Officio** Dr Lee Pheng Soon Dr Raymond Chua **Chief Administrator** Ms Chua Gek Eng **Editorial Manager** Ms Krysania Tan **Editorial Executive** Ms Adeline Chua

The views and opinions expressed in all the articles are those of the authors. These are not the views of the Editorial Board nor the SMA Council unless specifically stated so in writing. The contents of the Newsletter are not to be printed in whole or in part without prior written approval of the Editor.

Published by the Singapore Medical Association, Level 2, Alumni Medical Centre, 2 College Road, Singapore 169850. Tel: 6223-1264 Fax: 6224-7827 Email: news@sma.org.sg URL: http://www.sma.org.sg SMA Reg. No.: ROS 198/59 TAP

Page 1 – New Leadership for SMA

Southeast Asian Nations, and Chief Operating Officer in Changi General Hospital.

Dr Chong Yeh Woei, Clinical Director of Atria Medical Associates, and Dr Toh Choon Lai, an Orthopaedic Surgeon in private practice, were elected as 1st and 2nd Vice Presidents respectively.

The newly elected 47th Council welcomed two new faces, Dr Lee Yik Voon and Dr Yeo Sow Nam. Dr Lee has been serving in the SMA Private Practice Committee since 2003, and is a Family Physician in private practice. Dr Yeo is Director of The Pain Specialist in Mount Elizabeth Hospital/Mount Alvernia Hospital and Director of Pain Management Services in SGH/Singhealth.

The Council also expressed its deep appreciation to Dr Tham Tat Yean and Dr Ivor G Thevathasan, who retired from the Council after serving for six and seven years respectively, during which they had made invaluable contributions to the Council as well as various SMA committees.

The Installation Ceremony for the 47th SMA Council was conducted after the AGM on the same day, in the SMA Conference Room.

The following are other highlights of the Annual General Meeting.

SMA HONORARY MEMBERSHIP

We are pleased to announce that Senior Minister Mr Goh Chok Tong was elected to the SMA Honorary Membership at the AGM, in accordance with Article IV Section (iv) of the SMA Constitution. The Honorary Membership will be conferred during our Annual Dinner on 27 May 2006 at The Regent's Royal Ballroom. Senior Minister Goh will also be attending as our Guest-of-Honour.

CONSTITUTIONAL AMENDMENTS

In view of the lack of quorum at the AGM, the proposed amendments to the SMA Constitution, which were circulated to the membership earlier prior to the AGM, were not discussed.

CHARITY TRUSTEES

The House approved the appointment of the following as Charity Trustees for the SMA Trust Fund for a three-year term from 2006 to 2009:

- Dr Khoo Chong Yew (Chairman)
- Dr Prof Arthur S M Lim
- Dr Low Lip Ping

- Dr Tan Kok Soo
- Dr Tan Yew Ghee

PROFESSIONAL AUDITORS

Members present unanimously agreed to reappoint M/s Lo Hock Ling & Company as the Professional Auditors for the ensuing year, as proposed by the 46th SMA Council.

A WARM WELCOME TO OUR TWO NEW COUNCIL MEMBERS



DR LEE YIK VOON MBBS(S)(1987)

Dr Lee is a family physician at Lee & Tan Family Clinic and Surgery. He was previously a Medical Advisor to Eisai Asia Regional Services Pte Ltd and Regional Medical Advisor (ASEAN) to Zeneca Singapore Pte Ltd. He has also been serving in the SMA Private Practice Committee since 2003.



DR YEO SOW NAM ALEX

MBBS(S)(1994), MMed(Anaesthesia)(S)(1999), Fellow of Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetist (2000), Fellow of Faculty of Pain Medicine, Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetist (2002), Fellow of Interventional Pain Practice, World Institute of Pain (since 2004)

Dr Yeo is Director of The Pain Specialist in Mount Elizabeth Hospital/Mount Alvernia Hospital. He is also Director of both Pain Management Services and Acupuncture Services at Singapore General Hospital/ SingHealth. Among his many appointments, he is a MOH-appointed Member of Pain Management Committee, President of the Pain Association of Singapore and Founder of the Singapore Advisory Board for Pain Management, Pain Association of Singapore as well as a Consultant Anaesthetist in Singapore General Hospital. ■

Dr Wong Chiang Yin President Dr Chong Yeh Woei 1st Vice President Dr Toh Choon Lai 2nd Vice President Dr Raymond Chua Swee Boon Honorary Secretary Dr Yue Wai Mun Honorary Treasurer Dr Wong Tien Hua Honorary Assistant Secretary Dr Lee Yik Voon Honorary Assistant Treasurer

47[™] SMA COUNCIL

Members

Dr John Chiam Yih Hsing Dr Chin Jing Jih Dr Lee Pheng Soon Dr Oh Jen Jen Dr Soh Wah Ngee Dr Tan See Leng Dr Tan Sze Wee Dr Toh Han Chong Dr Yeo Sow Nam