

Standing (L-R): Prof Raj Nambiar, Dr Wong Chiang Yin, Dr M Ponnusamy, Dr Lee Pheng Soon, Dr Lee Suan Yew, Prof Wonchat Subhachaturas Seated (L-R): Mrs Lee, Mrs Goh, SM Goh Chok Tong, Mrs Nambiar

SMA Annual Dinner

he evening of 27 May 2006 (Saturday) was a memorable one for many of the 300-over guests who attended the SMA Annual Dinner at the Royal Ballroom of the Regent Hotel.

Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong graced the event as our Guest-of-Honour. For his distinguished life in public service and contributions to healthcare, Senior Minister Goh was also conferred the SMA Honorary Membership. His citation was delivered by Dr Vivian Balakrishnan, Minister for Community Development, Youth and Sports and Second Minister for Information, Communications and the Arts (see page 5). In addition to the Honorary Membership award, SMA also presented Senior Minister Goh with a Chinese calligraphy scroll containing the characters 上医医国, which translate literally into

"A superior physician heals the nation." Council Member Dr Chin Jing Jih expounded briefly on the calligraphy (see page 4), after which Senior Minister Goh delivered a speech (see front page).

Guests were also treated to a delightful musical interlude by Dr Chang Tou Liang (piano) and Dr Derek Lim (liuqing). This was followed by presentation of the other awards: Singapore Medical Journal (SMJ) Best Research Paper Awards, SMA Merit Awards and SMA Long Service Awards. The Association also presented for the first time, tokens of appreciation to the SMA Immediate Past President and retired Council Members for their invaluable contributions and service.

SMJ BEST RESEARCH PAPER AWARDS 2005

The SMJ Best Research Paper was launched

◆ Page 27 – SMA Annual Dinner



Left-Right: Dr M Ponnusamy (Honorary Secretary, Malaysian Medical Association), Dr Ivor Thevathasan, Dr Wong Chiang Yin



Standing (L-R): Dr Chew Chin Hin, Prof Lee Yong Kiat, Dr Mah Guan Kong, A/Prof Goh Lee Gan, Dr Tan Yew Ghee Seated (L-R): Mrs Chew, Mrs Lee, Mrs Mah, Mrs Tan



Standing (L-R): Dr Tan Cheng Bock, Dr Chong Yeh Woei, Prof Fock Kwong Ming, Prof Tan Ser Kiat, Prof Ong Yong Yau Seated (L-R): Mrs Tan, Prof Aline Wong, Minister Khaw Boon Wan, Mrs Fock, Dr Lam Sian Lian



Standing (L-R): A/Prof Cheong Pak Yean, Dr Toh Choon Lai, Dr William Chew, Dr Wee Keng Poh, Dr Ho Lai Yun Seated (L-R): Mrs Chew, Mrs Wee, Minister Vivian Balakrishnan, Prof & Mrs Chee Yam Chev



Left-Right: Dr Ng Han Seong, Dr Toh Choon Lai, Dr Chong Yeh Woei, Dr Tham Tat Yean



Ms Emily (Pfizer) presents the first prize for the SMJ Best Research Paper Award to Dr Thein Myint Myint, who receives it on behalf of the team.

in 2003 to give due recognition to local and regional researchers for outstanding research papers published in the journal.

The preliminary round of judging was done by three *SMJ* Editorial Board Members: A/Prof Chow Wan Cheng, A/Prof Ho Nai Kiong and Dr Pwee Keng Ho. The final round of judging was completed by Prof Chee Yam Cheng, Prof Lee Eng Hin and Prof Wilfred C G Peh.

First Prize – \$\$5,000 cash award sponsored by Pfizer Pte Ltd – went to **Dr Thein Myint Myint, A/Prof Lee Bee Wah and Ms Bun Pui Yoke** for their paper: Knowledge, attitude and practices of childhood injuries and their prevention by primary caregivers in Singapore. Second Prize – \$\$3,000 cash award sponsored by SMA – **Dr Chng Wee Joo, Ms ChristinaSum and Dr Ponnudurai Kuperan** for their paper: Causes of isolated prolonged activated partial thromboplastin time in an acute general hospital.

And Third Prize – S\$2,000 cash award sponsored by SMA – **Dr Tan Hiok Hee** and A/Prof Roy KW Chan for their paper: Use of polymerase chain reaction on pooled cervical swabs to detect Chlamydia trachomatis infections in female sex workers in Singapore.

All winners also received a commemorative trophy and certificate.

SMA and SMJ would like to thank Pfizer Pte Ltd for their generous sponsorship for the First Prize.



Standing (L-R): Dr Kuperan Ponnudurai, Dr Tan Hiok Hee, Dr Lee Bee Wah Seated (L-R): Mrs Ponnudurai, Ms Bun Pui Yoke, Dr Thein Myint Myint, Mrs Tan



Left-Right: Club Rainbow – Dr Janice Wong, Mr Gregory Vijayendran,



Prof Arthur Lim and guests.



Standing (L-R): Mr Sonny Wee, Dr Lam Pin Min, Mr Bruce Cheng, Dr Bobby Cheng Seated (L-R): Dr Yeap Min Li, Dr Jeanette Chen, Dr Kelly Loi, Mrs Cheng



Dr Chau Chwen Hwe receiving the SMA Merit Award from Dr Lee Pheng Soon.



The SMA SecretariatStanding (L-R): Nirmal, Krysania, Yen Hoon, Miranda, Emmeline, Karen, Caroline, Adeline, Shyanne & Regina
Seated (L-R): Syafiqah, Liena, Mdm Lui & Gek Eng
Absent: Mohari, Resan, Rini & Angeline

TOKENS OF APPRECIATION

Tokens of appreciation were presented to **Dr Lee Pheng Soon**, SMA Immediate Past President, as well as retired Council Members, **Dr Tham Tat Yean** (Assistant Honorary Secretary – 2001; Honorary Secretary – 2002-2004) and **Dr Ivor Thevathasan** (Council Member – 2000-2005).

SMA MERIT AWARDS 2006

Started in 2003, the SMA Merit Awards are presented in recognition of recipients' significant contributions to SMA and the medical profession, social service to the community or commendable personal achievements. Recipients may be SMA

Members, doctors or non-medical professionals.

Dr Chau Chwen Hwe, Part-time Doctor with NHGP, has contributed significantly to the community in the form of free clinics, medical mission and health education to poor slum areas, both urban and rural, in the Philippines since 1998. Dr Chau dedicates part of her time to bringing similar medical programmes to China, Pakistan, Indonesia and Indochina.

Mr Edwin Tong, Partner in Litigation and Dispute Resolution at Allen & Gledhill Advocates & Solicitors, has provided legal advice to the Association on several occasions and also speaks regularly at its seminars.

Dr Loo Choon Yong, SMA Honorary



Standing (L-R): Dr Tong Ming Chuan, Dr Geh Min, Dr Wong Kwok Yun, Dr Chee Phui Hung, Dr Wong Sze Tai Seated (L-R): Mrs Chong, Dr Wong Moh Sim, Dr Diana Chee, Mrs Mary Wong, Dr John Chong



Left-Right: Dr Lee Yik Voon, Dr Agnes Tan, Mrs & Dr Yue Wai Mun, Prof Tan Ser Kiat

Secretary (1980 to 1981) and Chief Executive Officer of Raffles Hospital Pte Ltd, was recognised for his significant contributions and valuable services to the SMA.

SMA LONG SERVICE AWARDS

Three doctors received the SMA Long Service Awards for their meritorious service to SMA Council and Committees for the past 10 years.

Dr Chong Yeh Woei, SMA 1st Vice President, has been serving on the SMA Council and Private Practice Committee. **Dr Teo Wee Siong** was recognised for his contributions to the SMA-SNA CPR Training Programme Committee. **Dr Julian**

Theng also received the award for his outstanding service to the Sports and Games Committee.

SMA STAFF LONG SERVICE AWARDS

Two Secretariat staff received the award this year. **Ms Noor Azliena Bte Samhudi,** Administrative Officer, and **Ms Krysania Tan,** Deputy Chief Administrator and Editorial Manager of *SMA News*, have been with SMA for ten and five years respectively.

SMA would like to take this opportunity to thank all guests who attended the Dinner and made it a success.