

Text by Lee Sze Yong, Manager, Council Support

Dr Ng Chee Kwan was re-elected as SMA President during the SMA Annual General Meeting (AGM) held on 27 April 2025, conducted in hybrid format at SMA's office at the Eagles Center, 166 Bukit Merah Central. This is Dr Ng's third term as SMA President.

Dr Ng started the proceedings by thanking Members for attending the AGM either in-person or via teleconference. Honorary Secretary Clinical Asst Prof Benny Loo Kai Guo highlighted the ground rules for the AGM and led the review of the 2024 AGM minutes. The minutes were confirmed and adopted, with no matters arising from it.

Members present were referred to the SMA Annual Report 2024/2025 themed "Enriching our Profession". The Annual Report was then adopted.

A minute of silence was also observed for SMA Members who have passed away since the 2024 AGM.

Next, Honorary Treasurer Adj A/Prof Ng Chew Lip presented the 2024 accounts for SMA Group (SMA and SMA Pte Ltd [SMAPL]), of which he highlighted an operating surplus of \$744K before tax in 2024.

The accounts for SMAPL were presented by Adj Prof Tan Sze Wee, Chairperson of SMAPL. SMAPL's profit and loss statement

largely depends on the performance of its investments. For 2024, SMAPL's investment account achieved a net income of \$240K (after tax).

As the AGM attendance was below the required quorum of 50, the item on a proposed amendment to the SMA Constitution could not be considered. The proposal was to remove Article V, Section (iv) which reads:

Article V - Subscriptions

"iv. An Ordinary member joining the Association during the second half of the Financial Year shall pay only half the annual subscription in respect of that year."

The removal of the half-year subscription is for the purpose of streamlining the membership administration process. The item will be raised again at the next AGM.

Members present affirmed the SMA Council's proposal to elect Prof Ho Lai Yun and Prof Tay Boon Keng as SMA Honorary Members for 2025.

Elections for the 66th SMA Council were then conducted. New Council member Dr Calvin Tjio, a diagnostic radiology resident at National University Health System, made an introduction at the AGM. The election for the executive committee was then conducted.

Dr Chong Yeh Woei, Chairperson of the SMA Charity Fund (SMACF), then presented his report. SMACF awarded bursaries to 51 medical students in 2024, disbursing a total of \$306K. For 2025, SMACF will produce a corporate video and focus on capitalising on the Tote Board's dollar-for-dollar matching grant, which will taper down after 2025.

Members present affirmed the SMA Council's proposal to appoint the following as Trustees of SMAPL for a fiveyear term from 2025 to 2030:

- A/Prof Chin Jing Jih
- Dr Chew Suok Kai
- Adj Prof Thirumoorthy s/o Thamotharampillai

With that, the AGM was concluded. ◆

Legend

1. Standing (from left): Adj A/Prof Ng Chew Lip, Dr Calvin Tjio, A/Prof Anantham Devanand, Dr Ivan Low Jinrong, Dr Tammy Chan Teng Mui, Dr Michael Lim Khong Jin, Dr Lee Yee Mun, Dr Lee Pheng Soon

Sitting (from left): Adj Asst Prof Raj Kumar Menon, Dr Chie Zhi Ying, Dr Daniel Lee Hsien Chieh, Dr Ng Chee Kwan, Clinical Asst Prof Lim Kheng Choon, Clinical Asst Prof Benny Loo Kai Guo, Dr Tina Tan Zhenwen

Not in picture: Adj Asst Prof Lambert Low Tchern Kuang, Adj Prof Tan Sze Wee, Dr Tan Yia Swam, Dr Toh Choon Lai, Dr Wong Chiang Yin

President Dr Ng Chee Kwan • Urologist at CK Ng Urology & Minimally Invasive Surgery	Council Members	
	Dr Tammy Chan Teng Mui • Family Physician at T C Family Clinic	Adj A/Prof Ng Chew Lip • ENT Surgeon at Ng Teng Fong General Hospital
st Vice President or Daniel Lee Hsien Chieh CEO of St Andrew's Nursing Home	A/Prof Anantham Devanand • Specialist in Respiratory Medicine, Intensive Care Medicine, Internal Medicine at Singapore General Hospital	Adj Prof Tan Sze Wee • Advisor to Temasek International
Clinical Asst Prof Lim Kheng Choon Radiologist at Singapore General Hospital Honorary Secretary	Dr Lee Pheng Soon • Family Physician at Family Doctors at 365	Dr Tan Yia Swam • General Surgeon at Breast Friend Surgery & Wellness
linical Asst Prof Benny Loo Kai Guo Paediatrician at KK Women's & Children's Hospital Jonorary Assistant Secretary Tina Tan Zhenwen	Dr Lee Yee Mun • Urologist at Nexus Surgical	Dr Calvin Tjio • Diagnostic Radiology Resident at National University Health System
Psychiatrist at Better Life Psychological Medicine Clinic	Dr Michael Lim Khong Jin - Family Physician	Dr Toh Choon Lai Orthopaedic Surgeon at Orthopaedic Associate
lonorary Treasurer Or Chie Zhi Ying Family Physician at National Healthcare Group Polyclinics	Dr Ivan Low Jinrong • Doctor at HQ Medical Corps, Singapore Armed Forces	Dr Wong Chiang Yin • Public Health Physician in private sector

Adj Asst Prof Lambert Low Tchern Kuang

Psychiatrist at Institute of Mental Health

Armed Forces

Honorary Assistant Treasurer
Adj Asst Prof Raj Kumar Menon
• Trauma and Vascular Surgeon at National
University Hospital